Tops for Bob and BEM sex-role inventory test

I’ve been thinking that I’m getting no where fast. I’ve missed my dressing time while I’m wearing my fibreglass cast – my fave tops won’t slip over the darnn thing. It’s sad that the only place I can’t be feminine is at home. OK, not quite true, I can be feminine any time Jay isn’t in the same room, but that’s the sad bit – the woman I adore is the biggest problem. As soon as I step out the door I go femme in my head, although I’m in bob mode, and I practice my walk and poise. I don’t care if I send out mixed messages, as I feel it’s my only chance to shake off the lie I live most of the time. I’m a girl, so I should act like one – shouldn’t I?
I guess I’m an enigma, but hey who cares. Not being who or what I feel am is what I care about. But, the other day we went to a local market, and I fell for some new tops – but they were tops for BOB, would you believe. It’s 7 years since I outed to Jay, and for the first few years or more I refused to buy anything for Bob. When I had the chance, I had bought stuff to wear as Anna, but nothing satisfied my rules for male attire. The rule was, they had to be ‘unisex’.
Now, I actually hate the term, because it translates as One Sex. It should be called Uni-style, because it is one style for both sexes. I dare say, my views won’t have any effect on the clothing trade – LoL. My big grouse with ‘unisex’ clothing is that, in practice, ‘Unisex’ clothing is male clothing, given some pretty colour ranges, to appeal to woman. And lets face it, girls don’t care about the gender style of their gear, because if they like it, they’ll wear it. Not finding ‘unisex’ in a femme style proved to be my blocker. I don’t like wearing anything that reinforces the male gender identity. When girls wear blue it’s fine, they are still girls, when I wear blue I’m waving a flag with MAN on it. As my clothes wore out I eventually had to buy some male gear – and although I keep looking at ‘unisex’ stuff, I haven’t actually got any. I guess you will be saying – “Silly moo – anything is better than nothing – grab that ‘unisex’ stuff Bob and on your way.”
The tops? They had a girlie shear quality about them, if that is the correct word. Filmy T-shirts. A black one, with square blocks in differing black stitch patterns on black; a white one with square blocks in differing black stitch patterns on white, creating greys; and a white one with a small amount of black on collars and hems. The stall had a massive range of female clothes in all styles and colours – how I’d adore having a shopping spree there for Anna.
.
To end on a good note, I don’t have any problems with my femininity, and I’m even becoming comfortable with what little maleness I have too, the problems are with not having the freedom to be whom I know I am. ok, I lie. I could just say, “Ok, from today I’m not going to anything else but be female”, and say good bye to Jay and life as I know it. But love for Jay means I’ve decided to stay in this no womans land. I said I was a enigma – LoL.
.
Now here’s the fun bit, ( well, I’ve got to give you some homework to do)! this link tests what parts your male and female sides have in your make up. I don’t think it’s meant to be taken too seriously. Me? My male side is 43% male, and the female side is 93% pure woman.
.

I’ve been thinking that I’m getting no where fast. I’ve missed my dressing time while I’m wearing my fibreglass cast – my fave tops won’t slip over the darnn thing. It’s sad that the only place I can’t be feminine is at home. OK, not quite true, I can be feminine any time Jay isn’t in the same room, but that’s the sad bit – the woman I adore is the biggest problem. As soon as I step out the door I go femme in my head, although I’m in bob mode, and I practice my walk and poise. I don’t care if I send out mixed messages, as I feel it’s my only chance to shake off the lie I live most of the time. I’m a girl, so I should act like one – shouldn’t I?

I guess I’m an enigma, but hey who cares. Not being who or what I feel am is what I care about. But, the other day we went to a local market, and I fell for some new tops – but they were tops for BOB, would you believe. It’s 7 years since I outed to Jay, and for the first few years or more I refused to buy anything for Bob. When I had the chance, I had bought stuff to wear as Anna, but nothing satisfied my rules for male attire. The rule was, they had to be ‘unisex’.

Now, I actually hate the term, because it translates as One Sex. It should be called Uni-style, because it is one style for both sexes. I dare say, my views won’t have any effect on the clothing trade – LoL. My big grouse with ‘unisex’ clothing is that, in practice, ‘Unisex’ clothing is male clothing, given some pretty colour ranges, to appeal to woman. And lets face it, girls don’t care about the gender style of their gear, because if they like it, they’ll wear it. Not finding ‘unisex’ in a femme style proved to be my blocker. I don’t like wearing anything that reinforces the male gender identity. When girls wear blue it’s fine, they are still girls, when I wear blue I’m waving a flag with MAN on it. As my clothes wore out I eventually had to buy some male gear – and although I keep looking at ‘unisex’ stuff, I haven’t actually got any. I guess you will be saying – “Silly moo – anything is better than nothing – grab that ‘unisex’ stuff Bob and on your way.”

The tops? They had a girlie shear quality about them, if that is the correct word. Filmy T-shirts. A black one, with square blocks in differing black stitch patterns on black; a white one with square blocks in differing black stitch patterns on white, creating greys; and a white one with a small amount of black on collars and hems. The stall had a massive range of female clothes in all styles and colours – how I’d adore having a shopping spree there for Anna.

To end on a good note, I don’t have any problems with my femininity, and I’m even becoming comfortable with what little maleness I have too, the problems are with not having the freedom to be whom I know I am. ok, I lie. I could just say, “Ok, from today I’m not going to anything else but be female”, and say good bye to Jay and life as I know it. But love for Jay means I’ve decided to stay in this no womans land. I said I was a enigma – LoL.

Now here’s the fun bit, ( well, I’ve got to give you some homework to do)! this link tests what parts your male and female sides have in your make up. I don’t think it’s meant to be taken too seriously. Me? My male side is 43% male, and the female side is 93% pure woman.

.http://www.helloquizzy.com/tests/the-bem-sex-role-inventory-test

4 Responses to “Tops for Bob and BEM sex-role inventory test”

  1. Angie Says:

    Crumbs, I admitted to being male but scored 90% fem and 37% masculine.

    I know what you mean about clothes. I love them to have a girlie quality and pastel shades are my favourites. I have found, however, that I look good in blue when in fem mode, though it’s much more fun to experiment with mauves and pinks

  2. Anna Arendt Says:

    I adore mauves, purples and lilacs, in femme or bob mode, and yellows for Bob are nice. Jay says that I look great in blues, as Bob of course – LoL.

    I admitted being male too for the test – so the results gave me a high – but putting my figures together, I’m nearly one third bloke, and just over two thirds feminine.

  3. TinaCortina Says:

    Hi Anna
    I did the test; interesting to a point but as it said it was very much male/ female sterotypes and I preferred the cogiati where I did come out more female. On the other hand I have strong male characteristics also, so a 50:50 may be accurate enough.

    Your result for The Bem Sex Role Inventory Test …
    Androgynous

    You scored 60% masculinity and 57% femininity!

    Androgynous
    You scored high on both masculinity and femininity. You have a strong personality exhibiting characteristics of both traditional sex roles.

    I have bought hardly any Bob clothes for years…. after all what would people have to buy me for Xmas and birthdays. But I’m a lousy shopper and have never really developed my own sense of style.

    Unlike you I would wish to avoid any androgenous clothing, despite the resuls of the test above, I prefer to be one or other!!

    Hugs Tina xx

  4. Anna Arendt Says:

    Hi Tina,

    Although it’s stereotype based, it’s interesting what it throws up. As you say – your life style is very much based on being one or the other at appropriate times – and I find that fascinating, and eminently sensible. My counts echo what I feel and can’t yet have, and most of what I do is a tempory cover-up – well, I’m ever in hope that it’s tempory, and better things are around the corner – LoL – whether that is sensible is another question.

    Hugs Anna x


Leave a Reply

